Site Navigation

WCB Home Page
Change Font Size
Glossary of WCB Terms

Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedules

December 15, 1997

TO: Insurance Carriers and Self-Insured Employers Providing Benefits Under the Workers' Compensation Law, Volunteer Firefighters' Benefit Law and Volunteer Ambulance Workers' Benefit Law

SUBJECT: Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedules (1996-1997)

This is to inform you that the Workers' Compensation Board has issued updated Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedules. Copies are enclosed.

These schedules have been adopted pursuant to Section 13, subdivision (a) of the Workers' Compensation Law and constitute Sections 329.4 and 329.5 of Title 12 of the Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York. They cover ambulatory surgery charges rendered between January 1, 1996 and December 31, 1996, and on or after January 1, 1997 for services to patients under the Workers' Compensation Law, the Volunteer Firefighters' Benefit Law, the Volunteer Ambulance Workers' Benefit Law and the Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Reparations Act.

These schedules were prepared using the New York State Products of Ambulatory Surgery (PAS) methodology with the reimbursement level set at 150% of the rate promulgated by the New York State Health Department for Medicaid patients.

Hospitals and Ambulatory Surgery Centers may request retroactive adjustment on all bills rendered in calendar year 1996 as well as bills previously rendered in calendar year 1997. Requests for retroactive payment will be subject to interest at the rate of 9 percent per annum, if such payment is not made within 45 days of receipt of the bill by the carrier.

These schedules will also be available on a diskette (3 1/2 inch format) for a nominal fee of $20.00. You may order the diskette version of these schedules by writing to the Workers' Compensation Board, 100 Broadway-Menands, Albany, New York 12241 Attention: Publications Unit. Checks must be made payable to the Chairman Workers' Compensation Board. Questions concerning the diskette can be addressed by calling Ms. Lynne Cuva at (518) 486-3330.

Ambulatory Fee Schedule information is also available on the Internet. The Workers' Compensation Board web site location is http://www.wcb.ny.gov. If you have any questions regarding the implementation of these schedules, please contact our Health Provider Practices Office at (718) 802-6796.

Robert R. Snashall
Chairman


December 15, 1997

TO: Hospitals Providing Ambulatory Surgery Services
Licensed Free Standing Ambulatory Surgery Centers

SUBJECT: Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedules (1996-97)

This is to inform you that the Workers' Compensation Board has issued updated Ambulatory Surgery Fee Schedules.

These schedules have been adopted pursuant to Section 13, subdivision (a) of the Workers' Compensation Law and constitute Sections 329.4 and 329.5 of Title 12 of the Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York. They cover ambulatory surgery charges rendered between January 1, 1996 and December 31, 1996, and on or after January 1, 1997 for services to patients under the Workers' Compensation Law, the Volunteer Firefighters' Benefit Law, the Volunteer Ambulance Workers' Benefit Law and the Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Reparations Act.

These schedules were prepared using the New York State Products of Ambulatory Surgery (PAS) methodology with the reimbursement level set at 150% of the rate promulgated by the New York State Health Department for Medicaid patients.

Hospitals and Ambulatory Surgery Centers may request retroactive adjustment on all bills rendered in calendar year 1996 as well as bills previously rendered in calendar year 1997. Carriers will be required to pay 9 percent per annum interest if retroactive adjustments are not paid within 45 days of receipt of such request.

Ambulatory Fee Schedule information is also available on the internet. The Workers' Compensation Board web site location is http://www.wcb.ny.gov. Questions about this aspect of the web site can be directed to Ms. Lynne Cuva by calling (518) 486-3330.

Enclosed are the updated reimbursement schedules for your facility. If you have any questions regarding the implementation of these schedules, please contact our Health Provider Office at (718) 802-6796.