
Workers’ Compensation Board
The Advocate for Injured Workers

328 State Street
Schenectady, NY 12305
(877) 632-4996
advinjwkr@wcb.ny.gov

The Office of the Advocate for Injured Workers is a unique 
service that assists workers who are injured or made ill on the 
job in New York State. The Advocate’s staff provides guidance 
and information to injured workers to enable them to protect 
their rights in the workers’ compensation system.

If you are unsure of your rights as an injured worker, help 
is a phone call away. Call (877) 632-4996 and ask for 
the Advocate for Injured Workers’ office. The staff in the 
Advocate’s office can give you straight answers about:

  How to file a claim
  Which forms are used
  Who is covered
  Disputed claims
  Hearing and appeal rights
  Timely filing
  Record keeping
  Your role in your medical treatment
  What medical benefits are available
  Rehabilitation and social work
  What to do in the event of death

The Advocate for Injured Workers travels throughout the state 
and meets with labor unions, employers, occupational safety/
health groups, and injured worker support groups to provide 
updates on changes within the workers’ compensation system.
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The Advocate for Injured Workers offers 
presentations on workers’ compensation 
issues that are important to workers,  
labor unions, employers, COSH groups, 
and injured worker support groups.

Call or email to schedule  
an educational session.
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Medical Care
All approved medical care for your injury or illness 
is paid for by your employer’s insurer. This care is 
covered whether or not you lose time from work. It is 
also paid in addition to any benefits for missed wages.

Health care providers must be authorized by the 
Board. You can find a list of authorized health care 
providers on the Board’s website at wcb.ny.gov or by 
calling the Medical Director’s Office at (800) 781-2362. 
You can receive care from any of these providers or 
from your own doctor if he or she is authorized.

Lost Wages Benefits
Workers’ compensation lost wages benefits are 
payable based on proper medical documentation 
from a treating health care provider. Benefits are paid 
at two-thirds of your average weekly wage, based on 
your wages for the 52 weeks prior to the date of injury, 
and are not to exceed the maximum benefit amount 
allowed by law.

The maximum benefit amount adjusts every July 1. 
It is based on the New York State Average Weekly 
Wage for the previous calendar year as reported by 
the Commissioner of Labor to the Superintendent of 
Insurance on March 31 of each year.*

If you were working more than one job at the time 
of your injury, that may be considered “concurrent 
employment.” In this case, wages from each job 
should be reported to the Board. If it is “concurrent 
employment,” the wages are totaled to determine your 
average weekly wage.

*The benefit rate an injured worker receives (determined 
by his/her date of injury) does not increase if new maximum 
benefits are adopted into law.

Workers’ compensation fraud is a Class E felony, punishable 
by up to four years imprisonment and a $5000 fine.
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For more information about your  
workers’ compensation claim, please call:

(877) 632-4996
You will be asked for the following information when you call:

  �Your name

  �Your WCB case number

  �Telephone number (with area code) 
where you can be reached

  �Brief description of the problem and  
any correspondence received

FILING A CLAIM

FASTEST: Visit wcb.ny.gov and select  
File a Claim then complete the web version 
of the Employee Claim (Form C-3) to submit 
the form online.

If you have questions about filing an Employee 
Claim (Form C-3), please call (877) 632-4996 
and a Board representative will assist you.

If You are Injured on the Job 
When a workplace injury occurs, you should:

  �Seek first aid or other necessary medical treatment  
as soon as possible.

  �Report the injury to your employer in writing within  
30 days after the date of the accident.

  �File a claim with the NYS Workers’ Compensation 
Board within two years of the date of your injury; 
however, it is best to file as soon as possible.

If you have been diagnosed with a work-related illness or 
occupational disease, you should seek necessary medical 
treatment as soon as possible.

Workers’ compensation claims for an occupational disease 
must be filed within two years of when you become disabled; 
or two years from the date you knew or were told by a health 
care provider that the condition was work related. 

REMEMBER: SAFETY ALWAYS
The Best Accident is the One That Never Happens


