Handout 3: State by State Comparison

State Time frame to Submit Report
Alaska 14 days after examination concluded
California 30 calendar days from the date of the commencement of the exam to issue the report

Connecticut

Within 30 days after the completion of the reports

Within 15 calendar days after receipt and no later than 15 calendar days prior to the

Hawaii
scheduled date of hearing, whichever is sooner.
llinois Copy furnished to employee or representative as soon as practicable but no later than 48
hours before the time the case is set for hearing
Kansas Entitled to report within a reasonable amount of time after examination
Kentucky Fifteen (15) days after such examination a written report.
Maine No later than 14 days after completion of examination. Board will distribute copies to the
employer and employee
Massachusetts Report at least one week prior to hearing
Michigan Furnish report within 15 days of a request for the report
If review of records only report must be submitted within 10 business days of receipt of all
Nebraska necessary records and information. If examination required report must be submitted within
10 business days of the completion of the exam.
Within [10] ten business days after the independent medical examination except that in
New York cases of persons examined outside the State, such reports shall be filed and furnished within

[20] twenty business days after the independent medical examination.

North Carolina

If examiner physically examined employee, the employer must produce the examiner's
report to the employee within 10 business days of receipt by the employer

Rhode Island Impartial medical examiner's report is due within 14 days of examination

Tennessee No specific timeframe. Statute allows agency to penalize. However, fee received for
evaluation will vary depending on timeliness. 60+ days late report then no fee paid.

Texas Seven working days from the date of the examination of the injured employee.
Send completed report to Department or self-insurer within 14 calendar days of the

Washington examination date or within 14 calendar days of receipt of the results of any special tests or
studies.

. If only medical records are being paid, the provider shall provide the report within 30 days of
West Virginia

the request to do so
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