Skip to Content

Workers’ Compensation Board

New York State
Workers' Compensation Board
328 State Street  Schenectady, New York 12305
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

Subject No. 046-560

Chair Announces Adoption of ICD-10
Starting on October 1, 2014

Date: August 2, 2013

As previously announced in Subject No. 046-485, "Chair Announces Board Intends to Adopt Use of ICD-10 on a Timetable Consistent with Medicare and Medicaid", the NYS Workers' Compensation Board (Board) has begun planning the adoption of the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition diagnosis and procedure codes (ICD-10).

All medical providers and institutions covered by the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA) will be required to transition to the ICD-10. Although workers' compensation systems are usually excluded from HIPAA requirements, the Board expects that Board-authorized medical providers will be making the transition to ICD-10 for other medical payers. To avoid the costs to providers associated with supporting two diagnostic coding systems and to maintain consistency with other medical systems, the Board will also be requiring use of ICD-10.

The Board intends to align the timing of its adoption of ICD-10 with the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services' (CMS) IDC-10 implementation date, October 1, 2014. The Board will also begin requiring its providers to use the ICD-10 code sets on October 1, 2014.

The Board remains ready to provide whatever support stakeholders may need regarding the transition to ICD-10.

If you have questions about ICD-10 and its impact on New York's workers' compensation system, please email us at The CMS web site is also an excellent resource for ICD-10 information. Please visit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services website for timelines, resources, statute and regulations, and the latest news on the CMS transition.


Robert E. Beloten