Skip to Content

Workers’ Compensation Board

New York State
Workers' Compensation Board
328 State Street  Schenectady, New York 12305
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

Subject No. 046-470

Workers' Compensation Board Names Medical Advisory Committee

Date: October 14, 2011

The Workers' Compensation Board (Board) has named the members of its Medical Advisory Committee (MAC). This committee will develop additional guidelines for the treatment of work-related conditions, beginning with the management of chronic pain conditions. It will also help keep existing Medical Treatment Guidelines current with evolving medical knowledge and practice.

The MAC will be co-chaired by the Board's Medical Director, Jaime Szeinuk, M.D. of Mt. Sinai Medical Center, and the Board's Associate Medical Director/Senior Policy Advisor, Elain Sobol Berger, M.D., J.D.

The Board, the New York State AFL-CIO and the Business Council of New York State each nominated three medical professionals for appointment to the MAC, with the following chosen as Medical Advisory Committee Members.

Charles Argoff, M.D.
Professor of Neurology
Albany Medical College
Director, Comprehensive Pain Center
Albany Medical Center

Kenneth Chapman, M.D.
Spine and Pain Consultants of New York
Assistant Clinical Professor, Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Director, Pain Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY

Robert Goldberg D.O.
Past-President, Medical Society of the State of New York
Dean Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine
Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Steven Levin, M.D.
Former Medical Director WCB
Professor of Community and Preventative Medicine
Mt. Sinai Medical Center
Co-Medical Director
Mt. Sinai-IJ Selikoff Center for Occupational and Environmental Medicine

Joseph Pachman, M.D.
Regional Medical Director,
Liberty Mutual Group

James Tacci, M.D., J.D., M.P.H.
Global Manager of Medical Services
Xerox Corporation
Assistant Professor and Residency Program Director
Department of Community and Preventive Medicine
University of Rochester Medical Center

Edward Tanner, M.D.
President of the New York State Society of Orthopedic Surgeons
Clinical Associate Professor of Orthopedic Surgery
University of Rochester School of Medicine
Chief of Orthopedics
Rochester General Hospital

Norman Wetterau, M.D.
Family Physician, Tri-County Family Medicine, Dansville, NY
Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
University of Rochester School of Medicine
President, New York State Society of Addiction Medicine
Chair, Family Practice Workgroup
American Society of Addiction Medicine

Marc Wilkenfeld, M.D.
Chief, Division of Occupational Medicine
Winthrop University Hospital
Mineola, N.Y.

Margaret Moree, representing the Business Council of New York State

Art Wilcox, representing the New York State AFL-CIO

The Committee will consult with additional subject matter experts in various health care disciplines, as necessary. The first meeting took place on October 4, 2011.


Robert E. Beloten