Date: May 4, 2011
Beginning July 1, 2010, the maximum weekly benefit rate for workers' compensation is two-thirds of the New York State average weekly wage for the previous calendar year, as determined by the New York State Department of Labor. Workers' Compensation Law §§ 2(16); 15(6). On March 31, 2011, the Department of Labor reported to the Superintendent of Insurance that the New York State average weekly wage for 2010 was $1,159.44. Accordingly, for workers' compensation claims with dates of accident or dates of disablement during the period from July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012, the maximum weekly benefit rate will be $772.96.
Robert E. Beloten